Debbie Downer Post

Already apologize for this post, but when I wrote it in October of 2015 – I was really miserable.

I’ve been meaning to sit down and write something on here for a while, but finding time has been quite the task. That’s not to say that I don’t ever have time, because once in a blue moon, I get a day off, or I don’t have to go in until 4. But then I either cherish the rest or remind myself of some of the magic by stopping by a park.

 

To be completely honest with you, I haven’t been into a park in weeks. I’ve been working late shifts and crazy hours, so when I have time off, the last thing I want to do is get back on my feet. Now that is all because of me. Some of the girls have had luck with their scheduling and haven’t had too many awful hours, so they do go and enjoy the parks, and I am happy for them. That is just something I don’t see myself being able to do, knowing I have to go clear across property to get to my work location.

 

This is not to say though that I have lost the magic. Whenever I do end up being able to go into a park, it is still the happiest thing for me, knowing that magic is waiting just around the corner. Have I lost the magic for Downtown Disney? In all honesty, yes. Downtown Disney used to be one of my favorite things to do with my mom or my dad. My mom and I are the queens of browsing and my dad is just fun to shop with cuz he normally buys something he really doesn’t need, and of course, I judge. But sadly, I’ve seen and heard too much negativity associated with this area to ever fully get the appreciation back. I don’t hate my job, I hate what it has done to my magical abilities.

 

With that said, none of these roles (jobs) that they give you are any semblance of being difficult. It’s a basic Floorstock, sales, backstage stock job. Same with any role they give you across the entire property. None of these jobs are necessarily hard, but it’s the hours that will kill you.

 

I have always been brought up to be a hard worker, that’s something that I have always prided myself on and I carry it with me every day to work. However, there are a lot of other people here who did not stop and consider that this would be exhausting, and those are the ones just drenching me with negativity. These aren’t usually full-time workers either, these are typically CP’s that honestly thought they would be able to go into the parks all the time and not really have to work.

 

Newsflash:

 

You have to work.

Typically 50 hours a week.

 

This being said, these people are why I started breaking. Why I broke down in my car one night because all I wanted to do was go home and have Pooter lick my face with his butt-tongue. Do I really want to go home and just give up on everything here because it got hard? No. But being surrounded with people that are consistently raining on your parade, it just gets overwhelming. And quick.

 

This program isn’t for the faint of heart. I honestly look back at my high school and don’t see anyone who could finish through. You have to be able to work these weird hours with people who are constantly going to try and get you to join in on their crap talk, foreigners that will always get mad at you because you don’t speak their language, and smells too of all the different homes and foods of workers and guests. You have to be able to be okay with always being exhausted. You have to be okay with not feeling like you’re getting paid enough after rent.

 

Most of all, you have to be okay with the fact that NOTHING is going to go as you want. Ever. Period.

 

I’m not saying any of this to be negative, and I honestly hope you don’t take it as such. This is my full and complete honesty with just the first month of this program. And from talking to others who have been here longer…it doesn’t get any better or easier.

 

If you want my full honesty, no, I don’t reccomend this program to anyone I personally know at this time. I am just not positive that anyone I know could handle it. Not trying to be rude, but no one really gets how tough this thing actually is. And if in the first week you don’t think you can do it?

 

Go Home.

 

Or you will be miserable.

 

 

I’m sorry for the downer of a post this is, I just figured I really had to be honest with you all.

 

Have a magical day

Leave a Reply

