Frontiers and Squares

If we keep going clockwise around Magic Kingdom, we run into Frontierland and Liberty Square next. Honestly, this is one of my favorite actual ‘lands’ that Magic Kingdom has. I don’t know if I just like the old westerny feel, or the costumes, or what, but it’s always one I love to stop by. Plus, they have some of the best rides, in my opinion. I stick Liberty Square in this group because it’s not really big enough to be on its own – that being said – it’s still amazing to walk around.

dsc_0497

I know I spoke about this briefly in my Adventureland post, but I do highly recommend that you do take some time in your day, perhaps between FastPasses, to admire the details. As a kid, and adult, I have loved just strolling through the lands and seeing what kind of extra little details I can find that the Imagineers decided to throw in there. (Not to mention finding Hidden Mickey’s is always a good scavenger hunt). If you like photography, I think looking for the interesting details to take pictures of is one of the fun things to do in Disney. That way, you can look back and see the details you may have missed while having your magical time. Frontierland and Liberty Square are GREAT places to find details.

Now, back to the important stuff you came for!

As I continue to keep writing these posts, I come across things I think that people would like to know, so if things continuously change, I apologize. I’m gonna try and keep it consistent.

dsc_0498

DINING

Pecos Bill Tall Tale Inn and Café – (Frontierland) This is a Quick Service restaurant, but like the Tomorrowland Terrace, has places for you to go and sit down and eat after. These are more meal-like entrees and options rather than just snacks, so the portions are bigger, and incidentally, so are the prices. The Inn and Café offers fare like Fajitas, Taco Burgers, and Beef Nachos, and for kids, traditional American foods like Mac and Cheese. ($ – 10-14 per person) Dining Plan Accepted.

Diamond Horseshoe – (Frontierland) Diamond Horseshoe is one of Frontierland’s more expensive fares, but it’s not for any reason. It’s kind of the Cinderella Castle of the Frontier Folk. They serve that down-home cookin like BBQ Pulled Pork, Braised Beef, Smoked Sausage, Corn on the Cob, ect. You’re not going to want for any more food for the rest of the day, I reckon! ($$$ 30-50 per person) Dining Plan Accepted

Sleepy Hollow – (Liberty Square) I’m not one to usually stick in all of the Quick Service options, but this one is a bit different, as it’s kind of a must-try among Disney-goers do to the unique style of these snacks. The most famous amongst them is the Fresh Fruit Waffle Sandwich. Complete with Nutella. If that doesn’t sound delicious, I don’t know what does! They also offer Funnel Cakes, waffles with powdered sugar, cinnamon, or strawberries and whip cream. If you get to the Magic Kingdom before you’ve had breakfast, this is always a cheaper option to the Beast’s castle. ($ <14 per person) Dining Plan Accepted.

Columbia Harbor House – (Liberty Square) Unlike most of these options I have here, I have dined here many a time. I don’t really know why, but I have, and I have to say that there is no reason why I wouldn’t go back. As you can probably guess, the Harbor House has more seafood options, as if you were in Boston or in the Northern States, more specifically in time of early America. But they also offer Chicken Pot Pie and different types of salads. If you’re not as into seafood, I wouldn’t recommend this option. And their seasonal cobbler is absolutely amazing. Definitely worth a bite.  ($<15 per person) DP Accepted.

 

ATTRACTIONS

There’s always something happening here in Frontierland, as well as Liberty Square. And in my opinion, some of the coolest rides and attractions are right in this area. Granted, I’m kind of partial to every Disney ride and attraction ever. Except Dinosaur – but we’ll get to that later.

Splash Mountain (FP+) – (Frontierland) It may not make a lot of sense to most people, the story behind it, that is, but it doesn’t take away from it being one of the coolest rides in Frontierland. It follows the story of Br’ear Rabbit and the movie Songs of the South – which, is an experience in and of itself. I’m not saying I’m a fan, but then again, everyone has their own opinions. Anyway, Splash Mountain is a staple, but is also one that you need to be aware that it is a WATER RIDE AND YOU WILL GET WET. But, as it is Florida, there is a high chance that you’ll dry out. But, for precautions if you don’t want to get wet at all, bring a poncho along. (Average Wait Time – 40-50 minutes)

Big Thunder Mountain Railroad (FP+)– (Frontierland) I have many memories about this rollercoaster, and I always have to ride it when I’m there. The queue line is awesome, and even though there aren’t any games or interactions, the true Disney storytelling is at its best. Story is, that you’re on the runaway railcar in the Wild Wild West. You get to go by geysers and mountains and everything in between. This is a great ride and I highly recommend. This is best for kids 6 and up, but have them ride with an adult, there aren’t any huge drops, but it’s still best to make sure they’re comfortable. (Average Wait Time – 30-40 minutes)

Tom Sawyer Island – (Frontierland) Tom Sawyer Island is a classic adventurers dream. It’s kind of a hidden gem in the Magic Kingdom, and you have to really want to find it. It’s more of a playground than anything, but one that you will need to be able bodied for. For photographers too, it’s a dream for finding those unique pictures. (No Wait Time)

Country Bear Jamboree – (Frontierland) This attraction is kind of one of those hit or miss ones amongst guests. You either love it or hate it. I, on this hand, love it. It’s a classic that has been a part of the Magic Kingdom since its opening in 1971. Of course, the animatronics have been updated over the years, but the charm and music stay forever the same. Its charming, silly, and a great way to get out of the rain, or reboot with the little ones. Shows are about 20 minutes long and run consistently. (No Wait Time)

Hall of Presidents – (Liberty Square) CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT THROUGH JUNE 29, 2017 – My mother is the one who is pushing me to add this on here, since I have never gone through it, but, it is a great place to have some quiet windown. It takes you through the history of our presidents and gives a bit of a history lesson to those who come in. My mom, as a teacher, loves it.

The Haunted Mansion – (Liberty Square) Welcome Foolish Mortals!! This is one of my absolute all-time favorite rides in all of the Disney Parks in Orlando. You climb aboard a DoomBuggy and explore the spooky Gracey Mansion. Kids under 4 may not really like this ride as it can look a bit spooky, but, I assure you for kids 6 to 99, you’ll love this ride and all the story it has to offer. Not to mention you may get a friend to follow you home. (Average Wait Time – 30-40 minutes)

DSC_0506.JPG

SHOPPING

I’m not going to put down all places to shop, but more of the themed shops that offer a bit different merchandise than the normal things you’ll find more commonly.

Briar Patch – (Frontierland) After your log plunge, stop inside the Briar Patch to gather all your needs for Splash Mountain and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad. These are things you will not be able to find any other place in Magic Kingdom or in other parks.

General Store Candies – (Frontierland) You may not find any stuffed Mickeys or princess dresses, but you will find that old time candy and general store goods, exclusive to Frontierland

Frontier Trading Post – (Frontierland) If you are an avid Pin Trader, then I would recommend stopping by here for your pin needs, as well as some Magic Band options (though not as many as Tomorrowland in my opinion).

Ye Olde Christmas Shoppe – (Liberty Square) A Olde time Christmas store for your holiday needs. It’s a smaller shop, but it offers a lot of options in ornaments and holiday Duffy and Shellie May outfits.

Momento Mori – (Liberty Square) If you survived your ride with the Ghost Host on the Haunted Mansion and want to remember your stay, head on over to the Momento Mori located just outside of the Mansion to grab all of your spooky needs from the Master Gracey and Nightmare Before Christmas. The Haunted Mansion Wares are ones you may not be able to find anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

