Tomorrowland Takes Off!

“Paging Mr. Morrow….Mr. Tom Morrow”

*Pictures gathered from Pinterest, all rights go to original owers*

Tomorrowland Attraction Poster:

This wraps up our journey through Magic Kingdom, guys!!! It’s been a ride (no pun intended), but we are finally through. If you’ve been following along, you’d know that we are now taking a flight through Tomorrowland. I am going to be completely honest with you all – I do not know much about Tomorrowland – or at least not as much as I should. I ride Space Mountain, and go on the Monster’s Inc. Laugh Floor, and usually that does it for me.

Since the start of my college program though, I was able to get more of a feel of Tomorrowland, and its meaning to not only the park, but also Walt. I finally went on the infamous Carousel of Progress – and loved it. Was able to go on Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin (FOR A CLASS NO LESS!) and sucked, but still had fun, and even rode Astro Orbiter and feared for my life. I can honestly say now that I am a Tomorrowland Noob. And I love it.

So, for this post, it’s gonna seem about the same as the others, but I’m not going to include all my thoughts on dining, as there aren’t any physical table services, just counter that you can take your tray to sit down. And it’s fair to note also that right now Stitch’s Great Escape is Temporarily Closed due to refurbishment.

(Photos shown in this post I gathered from Pinterest, they are not my own)

 

DINING

Quick Service – QS           Counter Service – CS      Table Service – TS

  • Auntie Gravity’s Galactic Goodies – QS CS
    • Offers Iced Coffee Floats!
    • $ < 14.99
  • Cool ShipQS CS
    • Ice Cream Goodies
    • $ < 14.99
  • Cosmic Ray’s Cosmic CaféQS TS
    • Tables available
    • American Eatery (like burgers)
    • $ < 14.99
  • The Launching PadQS CS
    • Mickey Stuffed Pretzels!
    • $ < 14.99
  • Tomorrowland Terrace RestaurantQS TS
    • American Eatery
    • Tables Available
    • $ < 14.99

RECOMMENDED ATTRACTIONS

Buzz Lightyear Space Ranger Spin(FP+) To Infinity – And Beyond!! Challenge your party to an epic battle to defeat Zurg as part of the Star Command. This is an indoor ride that is interactive and fun for all ages, it takes you through ups and downs and swirls and whirls, and it’s one that will never get old!

Monster’s Inc. Laugh Floor(FP+) Calling All Monsters! Monsters Inc. needs your help in generating their power – but not with screams – with laughs! This interactive experience allows you to have firsthand experience with some of your favorite monsters from the movie. This is one of my favorites, because it just gives you the warm fuzzies about giggling about corny dad-jokes.

Space Mountain (FP+) Strap In, Space Cadets!! This is a classic rollercoaster that Disney had made in both Disneyland and Walt Disney World – and it’s a favorite for a reason. This ride takes you through outer space in your own spaceship through the stars. Just sit back and enjoy the sounds of the space around you. This is a jostling ride, so if you don’t like being knocked around, this may not be your type of rollercoaster. That being said, if you can handle it, it’s worth it. I typically always get a FastPass for this one, but, if you have My Disney Experience, you can check the wait times and see if you want to wait the time, or ‘jump ship’ to FastPass Lane.

Carousel of Progress*HISTORY TIME* Remember back when I talked about “It’s a Small World,” and talked about how Walt Disney had created that showcase, along with others, to be shown at the 1964 World’s Fair? Carousel of Progress is one of those showcases that he created. From the success that it showed at the World’s Fair, Walt decided to take it back to Anaheim for a while. When the plans for Disney World (note: it wasn’t declared Walt Disney World until October 1, 1971 by Roy Disney) were created, Walt had made mention of how much he loved the ride…or, rather, attraction, and the Imagineers took note. Carousel of Progress remained in Disneyland until 1975, when it was moved into Walt Disney World as a part of their Tomorrowland expansion (they didn’t have 2000 Leagues Under the Sea). The Carousel was updated in 1992 to maintain the idea of ‘moving forward’ to the future.

As for the attraction itself, I had never known anything about it until I went for my DCP. Honestly, I just thought it was a big space that people forgot about for the longest time until one of my roommates was exclaiming about how awesome it was, and we needed time to kill before Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party began. And I was awestruck. It’s similar to the other animatronic attractions like Country Bear Jamboree, or the Enchanted Tiki Room, but also different. Yes, you have animatronic characters, but there is much more of a storyline in hand. Walt wanted to make a statement, and so he did. I am genuinely intrigued by this ride if I am being completely honest, and I always suggest it to anyone that I think would appreciate the dad-humor and storylines. But, however, I do recognize that this attraction isn’t for everyone, but as for my own recommendations, it is staying.

Tomorrowland Speedway – So maybe there needs to be a bit of an update in Tomorrowland, but the point is, the rides and attractions they have, they still have for a reason. Tomorrowland Speedway is a classic ‘go-kart’ ride that you race against others for. It’s actually a pretty long ride and you can ride one person or two-person, and if you need an example, when I was two, I rode with my dad on it. So it takes the small humans too.

Walt Disney World - Magic Kingdom - Tomorrowland:

SHOPPING

I think it’s fair enough to mention that the shopping here is pretty unique compared to the other lands. There aren’t a lot, but the ones they have specialize in specific things. So I am just gonna list them and the things that they specialize in, just in case you needed a bit of context with where you’d wanna go for certain things.

  • Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin Photos/ Buzz’s Star Command
    • Toy Story, Star Wars, Stitch
  • Merchant of Venus
    • Pins, Vinalmation, Cameras & Media
  • Tomorrowland Light and Power Co.
    • D-Tech, Custom Magic Bands, Magic Bands, Space Mt, Miles from Tomorrowland, Star Wars
  • Ursa’s Major Mart
    • Mickey Ears, Camera and Media (custom ‘land’ photos)

There's a great big beautiful tomorrow! #WaltDisneyWorld #Vacation #Tomorrowland:

Leave a Reply

